Jesus, I trust in You

Yesterday morning before driving towards Jerusalem to the Benedictine Monastery at Latrun situated in the Judean hills where I go to attend Mass on Sundays with a dear Catholic sister, Marianne I had a sudden flashback to an event that took place in Pennsylvania five years ago. I didn’t think any more of it, until after Mass, at Marianne’s home where we usually go to share a meal and fellowship together until she told me that she had been feeling a very strong sense from the Holy Spirit of the importance and urgency to pray faithfully every day the Divine Mercy Chaplet for the world.  She also told me that she had been teaching her thirty year old daughter about the prayer and the Feast of the Divine Mercy that Our Lord revealed to Saint Faustina as a “sign for the end times.”

Here are some of Our Lord’s gracious and terrifying words to St Faustina:

“You will prepare the world for My final coming. (Diary 429)

Speak to the world about My mercy … It is a sign for the end times. After it will come the Day of Justice. While there is still time, let them have recourse to the fountain of My mercy.  (Diary 848)

Tell souls about this great mercy of Mine, because the awful day, the day of My justice, is near. (Diary 965).

I am prolonging the time of mercy for the sake of sinners. But woe to them if they do not recognize this time of My visitation. (Diary 1160)

Before the Day of Justice, I am sending the Day of Mercy. (Diary 1588)

He who refuses to pass through the door of My mercy must pass through the door of My justice.” (Diary 1146).

In addition to these words of Our Lord Sr. Faustina gives us the Words of the Mother of Mercy, the Blessed Virgin,

“You have to speak to the world about His great mercy and prepare the world for the Second Coming of Him who will come, not as a merciful Savior, but as a just Judge. Oh how terrible is that day! Determined is the day of justice, the day of divine wrath. The angels tremble before it. Speak to souls about this great mercy while it is still the time for granting mercy.” (Diary 635).

Just then, the flashback made sense! The Holy Spirit was speaking the same message to both of us through different means yet at the same time.

The event the Lord reminded me of was a day when I was at home. I was quite tired physically that day and went upstairs to rest on my bed. I was aware that the hour of mercy, three o’clock in the afternoon, the hour Scripture and Tradition assigns to the death of Jesus on the Cross for the world’s salvation, was approaching and it was my custom to pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet everyday at this hour. I felt an intense struggle within me. My spirit yearned to get out of bed to pray the Chaplet, but my “flesh” was refusing. As the minutes passed the hour of three o’clock my struggle intensified, but I did not yield to the Spirit.

When He returned to His disciples He found them asleep. He said to Peter, “So you could not keep watch with Me for one hour?

Watch and pray that you may not undergo the test.  The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” (Matthew 26:41-42)

Just then I heard my cell phone ringing downstairs in the kitchen.  I wondered who was calling, and the urge to go and answer the call was strong. It pressed on me and I quickly hopped from the bed and ran down the stairs to answer it before the final ring when the caller would hang up. The voice on the other end was anxious. A young blind friend from Beirut who had lost his sight during the Lebanese civil war and whom I had come to know by the Lord’s providence and whom I encouraged in his walk of faith was calling from a local hospital. He was at the bedside of another young man, a friend of his, who had just been brought in as an emergency case from a terrible car crash that occurred earlier and he was in a coma. The doctors feared he would not survive, and if he did, they did not hold out hopes that he would come out of the coma, let alone ever make a good recovery. Rudi explained the grave situation of his friend and implored me to pray hard for him, believing that my prayers would be heard. In his trial of blindness he often struggled in his faith, and doubted, but he knew that I trusted Our Lord very much and I was grateful for the confidence he placed in my intercession for his friend. I knew the Lord would hear my prayers, but I did not know how He would answer them. I thought immediately of the condition of the young man’s soul and what might  happen to him should he die as Rudi implied to me that his friend was not in a state of grace.

Was the battle that took place in my soul up in my bedroom from my own weak flesh or the evil one trying to prevent me from praying? It is reasonable to assume that both were at work against the Holy Spirit. But I had been nudged harder by the Spirit to go and answer that phone call and by yielding to His inspiration, the powerful prayer that Jesus taught to Saint Faustina now became urgent as never before to me …a matter of life and death for this young man and his eternal destiny. I ran up the stairs and got down on my knees and prayed fervently the Divine Mercy Chaplet with all my heart, mind, soul and strength before Jesus in the Image of the Divine Mercy for our merciful Lord to empty out the depths of His mercy on the young man to heal  both his body and save his soul.

Here I share with you some of the holy conversations Our Lord Jesus had with St Faustina:

Once, as I was going down the hall to the kitchen, I heard these words in my soul: Say unceasingly the chaplet that I have taught you. Whoever will recite it will receive great mercy at the hour of death. Priests will recommend it to sinners as their last hope of salvation. Even if there were a sinner most hardened, if he were to recite this chaplet only once, he would receive grace from My infinite mercy. I desire that the whole world know My infinite mercy. I desire to grant unimaginable graces to those souls who trust in My mercy.” (Diary, 687)

“While I was saying the chaplet, I heard a voice which said, Oh, what great graces I will grant to souls who say this chaplet; the very depths of My tender mercy are stirred for the sake of those who say the chaplet. Write down these words, My daughter. Speak to the world about My mercy; let all mankind recognize My unfathomable mercy. It is a sign for the end times; after it will come the day of justice. While there is still time, let them have recourse to the fount of My mercy; let them profit from the Blood and Water which gushed forth for them.

“…Pray as much as you can for the dying. By your entreaties, obtain for them trust in My mercy, because they have most need of trust, and have it the least. Be assured that the grace of eternal salvation for certain souls in their final moment depends on you prayer. You know the whole abyss of My mercy, so draw upon it for yourself and especially for poor sinners. Sooner would heaven and earth turn into nothingness than would My mercy not embrace a trusting soul.” (Diary, 1777)

“When I entered the chapel for a moment, the Lord said to me, My daughter, help Me to save a certain dying sinner. Say the chaplet that I have taught you for him. When I began to say the chaplet, I saw the man dying in the midst of terrible torment and struggle, His Guardian Angel was defending him, but he was as it were, powerless against the enormity of the soul’s misery. A multitude of devils was waiting for the soul. But while I was saying the chaplet, I saw Jesus just as He is depicted in the image. The rays which issued from Jesus’ Heart enveloped the sick man, and the powers of darkness fled in panic. The sick man peacefully breathed his last. When I came to myself, I understood how very important the chaplet was for the dying. It appeases the anger of God.” (Diary, 1565)

“… My daughter, encourage souls to say the chaplet which I have given to you. It pleases Me to grant everything they ask of Me by saying the chaplet. When hardened sinners say it, I will fill their souls with peace, and the hour of their death will be a happy one. ….

Write that when they say this chaplet in the presence of the dying, I will stand between My Father and the dying person, not as the just Judge but as the merciful Savior.” (Diary, 1541)

“January 28, 1938. Today the Lord said to me, My daughter, write down these words: All those souls who will glorify My mercy and spread its worship, encouraging others to trust in My mercy, will not experience terror at the hour of death. My mercy will shield them in that final battle…” (Diary, 1540)

After I completed praying the Chaplet for the young man I felt a deep sense of peace.

The next day, I received another phone call from Rudy who excitedly told me that to the astonishment of the doctors his friend had awakened from his coma later that same day following my praying of the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. Not only had he come out of the coma but he was attempting to walk in his hospital room.

A day later, I received a “thank you” phone call from the young man’s brother, and I shared with him the unfathomable love that Jesus has for not only his brother but also his entire family and about the mercy of the Lord for them all. I encouraged him and his whole household to put all their trust in the Merciful Savior and walk with him the rest of their days.

“Jesus, I trust in You!”

Posted on March 29, 2011, in My Walk with Jesus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

